Cayuga-41; Covington-28

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! Got Something to Say to Me? older entries

2004-09-25 - 6:40 a.m.

We won again! This is absolutely unheard of for Cayuga's football team. I am so proud of these boys.
Okay the night started off with each player coming out and taking his mom's hand and bringing her into the locker room, which BTW, smells like a box of puppies. *G*
So Mackey comes and gets me and we sit on the bench in the locker room. The coach comes out and starts by telling us moms how proud he is of the kids and how hard they are working. Then he starts to talk to the boys and tell them "you may not always like what your mom tells you, but you better, by God do what she tells you." He started talking about his own mother and got choked up, which cause me to choke up, etc.
I really like Coach Goen. He's an ex-marine and quite the hard-ass, but fair. AND he believes in fair play: "If you knock the crap out of another player, you'd better reach your hand down and help him back up; pat him on the back and say, come back again!"
Then he did something you're not supposed to do...he had one of the kids lead us in prayer. Yeah, I know. It's basically against the law, but God Bless Coach Goen for not giving a shit about that. I don't think anyone else is going to care either. There was actually a public prayer before our game with Oakwood. So to hell with congress, us Texans is gonna pray if we want to! *G*
Anyway, so next, we had to go through the victory line. Usually the boys are RUNNING through this so I look at Mackey and go, "Do we have to run?" And he goes, "No, we're not running today." But by the time we get up there, we ARE running. I look at Mackey and he goes, "Uh oh." With this big shit-eating grin on his face. I tell him, "Don't you DARE let go." *G* So we run and I don't die. *G* When we get to the middle of the field I get a carnation from my boy, a kiss, a hug and a "I love you, Mom." Awww....*sniff*
They played a great game. Mackey scored two touchdowns. YAY!
Okay, so I'm leaving in just a bit to go to Dallas with Krik, then to Arlington this evening to watch our Rangers HOPEFULLY kick some baseball ass. *G* I LOVE me a man in uniform!

Notes

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!